Tonight I took a bit of a break from exams to catch up with some blogs, drink some wine and have a nice bath. I’m not much of a girly girl and really don’t do this often.

From l-r: VO5 Give me Moisture conditioner, Bathshed Vanilla and cookie scrub, Nivea Happy Time Shower Gel, Neutrogena 2-in-1 Face Mask, Clean and Clear Morning fresh Face Wash, Soap & Glory Glad Hair Day Shampoo.

The VO5 conditior I tried the other week as I simply needed a top up, but didn’t have much money to spare. It was on offer at 99p so I took the chance thinking it’ll do for a week till I can buy the good stuff. Wrong. This is the good stuff!

The body scrub looked sorta expensive but was a quid ina  charity shop a few weeks ago. I only really use it on important bits (boobs and bum for the fella, and elbows, feet adn knees for myself) and it’s not too bad. No idea where it’s from originally mind. never heard of Bathshed. Google tells me little too.

Happy Time Shower Gel: If you leave this blog to buy anything this would be it. When I started my nurse training there was a wee old lady who had this in her bathroom. She was always last to get washed as she was quite sedated and needed two people. But you could smell this stuff all down the corridor and we’d pretty much race our patients to get to wash her! I’ve used it ever since. It’s on offer all the time so I usually buy about 6 bottles a go to make sure we never run out.

The Neutorgena mask I’ve used since university. Only occasionally, but it really helps to clear my skin and is relatively cheap too.

I’ve recently swapped from my regular Garnier face scrub to this – only because Morrisons didn’t have my usual when I ran out last. This morning stuff smells great and does a good enough job. Not sure if I’m totally converted yet though!

Soap & Glory products look almost too good to use! This shampoo only really gets busted out when I’m all out of whatever redhead colour protect shampoo is on offer, but after seeing how good the V05 stuff is, I may well pick up the shampoo too.

Red candle – TK Maxx bargain, and tea light in a jar is a DIY project I made for valentines for Rory. Indian gift obv. Wine is a Californian Blosson Hill. Tasty. Om nom.

 

For when I’m out the bath I use

Benefit Bathina Body Lotion, or Hollister Laguna Beach Moisturiser.

The benefit body lotion is quite luxurious, though takes a long time to sink in which I hate. Due to its hefty pricetag I only really use it for special occasions. Which is bollocks really because I certainly don’t moisturise daily! (I know I know. Bad girl.)

The Hollister bottle I picked up for a quid in a charity shop in a posh London suburb. I bought it originally thinking I could stick it on eBay and make a few quid. It was simply an overpriced bottle with a logo on it that happened to smell nice. Too nice. Really fucking nice. And upon using it I was hooked. Such a surprise to find a clothes shop that sells great body lotions! It dries in quick, you can use it very sparingly, the scent is gorgeous and lasts for hours and it makes your skin soooooo soft. Long lasting too. Very impressed! I’ll be onto eBay to buy more when this runs out.

Bird clear glass jar was a fiver in M&S outlet. Wanted it for ages. Gunan fill it with sweets. The green square jar was originally from Urban Outfitters but turned up in piles in charity shops after it left the sale. Was £12 (!!) in UO. £1.50 in a chazza shop. My brushes sit in a jar that used to be filled with rock that I got at the seaside when I was about 9, and the LOVE lettering photo frame was a New Look sale item from around Christmas. Interestingly the picture is the first picture we ever took together on our first date after walking absolutely miles in deep snow around glasgow.

 

Skincare stuff for daily use sits along a shelf.

From l-r: Er, Soap Dispenser, Duck, Clinique Anti-Blemish Clarifying Lotion, Lancome Aqua Fusion Facial Moisturiser, Clinique Anit-Blemish Foaming soap, Nivea Eye Make Up Remover, Cotton buds, Fellas man moisturiser, No7 Evening Moisturiser, Pearl Drops Toothpaste, Botanics Gel Moisturiser, La Roche Posay freebie moisturiser and toothbrushes in a pot.

Clinique Anti Blemish lotion and soap – I’ve been using these for a few weeks now and I’ve seen a bit of an improvement. Not too huge though I would say that’s more down to me not bothering every day, but has a reasonable performance given its irregular use. I’ll need to invest in the soap bar and BB Cream to get full effects.

The Lancome moisturiser I found via a charity shop (seeing a pattern here!) Bought a trial pot for about £2 a while back, and it made such a difference. I’d been using No7 products before then and this was just something else. Unfortunately, I think they’d discontinued it as I hadn’t found this stuff anywhere other than eBay. And stocks are looking a bit thin there too. So when this pot gives out I’ll probably pop down to the counter and see what similar stuff they have on offer.

Eye make up remover is essential to me since I wear tons of eyeliner and mascara every day. I used L’oreal stuff before and found it to be a bit poor. Out of all the ones I’ve tried this Nivea one is gentle and removes it all, and only costs around £2.50. Bargain.

No7 evening moisturiser. I have the day cream to this as well, but there’s not room on that shelf for it. I don’t really use it anymore since the Lancome arrived, but there’s always a £5 off voucher/3 for 2 offer on so you can pick up the day/night moisturises and some other treat for around £7 each. they’re not bad but certainly nothing in comparison.

Botanics and La Roche Posay were both given to me. La Roche usually stays in my handbag and comes out for weekend away to save space. Botanics is oil free and get used occasionally to top up in the day if I need to. Nothing too brilliant or negative to say about either.

The duck I found on a wall in a pub in Crystal Palace. Toothbrush holder/Soap dispenser are M&S outlet (As is the bathmat and toilet brush that you can’t see – total bathroom cost about £15!) Cotton buds sit in a pot that was once an Air Wick Christmas candle that just happens to be a nice size.

I love that all my shelf products match my bathroom colours.

Does anyone use the same products? Or have a recommendation for a replacement Lancome?!

 

