I have an essay due in about 3 hours. Hence the blog post obvs.

 

When looking for kooky furniture, kitchenware or just nice bits and bobs for your house the market is open and there’s loads of places that will tempt you out of your money. However, trusty Urban Outfitters can sometimes be overpriced for what they sell. Etsy has far too many versions of the same thing you’re after, and the actual designer gear is usually far too expensive for mere mortals to afford.

I remember going to the V&A museum only once when I was a teen, and that was to see a Kylie Minogue costume exhibition with my GBF. The shop had some wonderful things in it, but we didn’t stay long. I’ve recently rekindled my love affair with their goods, and intend on making some purchases over Easter when I’m back in London. They have some fantastic homewares and printed items, most at fairly reasonable prices. Being a museum of design they have great pieces from well know collections, and stunning individual items you won’t really find anywhere else. All something outside the norm, and brilliantly unique.

Unfortunately I won’t have quite enough money for a set of these chairs, let alone the means to transport them back to Glasgow. Defo a sell out item too at £65 each. (£55 for the same chair without armrests – both in a variety of colours)

Image

We all love a bit of stationary and I adore the nerdy design of this geometric pen pot, but the fact it’s made from cardboard makes me worry for it’s durability given that it costs £15 (In the sale I might add)

Image

Still, It’d go rather fantastically with this London Skyline letter rack (£20)

Image

And these Tetris inspired post-its for all you geeks out there. (£7.50)

Image

And probably my favourite ever waste of money desk item

Image

The Donkey.

I do love this donkey and I’d happily throw £12 at it.

And if donkeys aren’t your thing – who couldn’t resist a panda? (£2.50)

Image

I know I can’t. they have every letter of the alphabet covered with a different cutey animal.

And finally, for those with a little more money to spend. We have this delightful light stand thingy…? (£100)

Image

And a £500 chair made from the skin of childhood hero Elmer the elephant. (Not really. I’m only kidding. Though for £500 it might well be)

Image

So, a variety of good to satisfy all tastes and budgets, and we haven’t even cracked into the edibles yet. If you’re ever in Kensington, have a pop in. It’s free entry, and there’s usually something good to see in the  museum, not just the shop. (The Science/History museum next door have a great range of home stuffs in their shops too!!)

